intervention, pls?

Could someone please please please get Christina Hendricks a stylist? She looks so amazing on Mad Men, and hot to the point that it often causes me physical pain to watch the show. Everything about her is sexy as shit.

She has great self-image, seems really happy in her own skin, and is a wonderfully buxom role model. She gave an  interview to Health magazine this month, and it’s so refreshing to read. Her attitude is straight-up awesome.

Q: What is your best advice for reaching total body confidence? Do you have it?
A: I guess my mom raised me right. She was very celebratory of her body. I never heard her once say, “I feel fat.” Back when I was modeling, the first time I went to Italy I was having cappuccinos every day, and I gained 15 pounds. And I felt gorgeous! I would take my clothes off in front of the mirror and be like, Oh, I look like a woman. And I felt beautiful, and I never tried to lose it, ’cause I loved it. [Laughs.]

I constantly hope that she and size-12 Crystal Renn are at the vanguard of a new era in female beauty.* There’s nothing wrong with being naturally skinny or curvy or whatever, but Pilates-toned muscularity has just gone too fucking far. I love that Matthew Weiner won’t let the women on the show work out, presumably because he does not want them looking like East German gymnasts with ropey arms and flat asses (Sarah Jessica Parker, this means you).

As an aside, let me just say that over Memorial Day weekend, I went, prompted by a sense of filial duty and morbid curiosity, to see SATC2 with my mom back in Kentucky. Two and a half hours of looking at SJP on the big screen was an experience I would not care to repeat. And there is a scene where she shows up wearing this dress–

–and Aidan (Really, writers? You couldn’t just let this one GO?) goes “You look good. Man, you look fucking hot.”

And I was sitting there with my internal Joel Hodgson going, “NO, she most unequivocally DOES NOT. She resembles nothing so much as Iggy Pop. Or maybe a California Raisin. But hot? Come the fuck on. Look at Cynthia Nixon. Now she’s aging really gracefully, and looks damn fine doing it.”

Sorry. Got waylaid there for a moment. Back to the lovely Ms. Hendricks. Anyone want to take a gander at why she shows up at red carpet events looking like she has been on a three-day bender AND might have a raging case of conjunctivitis? And in clothes that do her magnificent body absolutely no favors at all???

As other people far more astute than me have pointed out, no, you probably don’t want to spend your off hours dressed in what amounts to period costume.** I get that. But turning up looking like your hair was just run through an industrial strength juicer and eye makeup that makes you look like a rabbit subjected to animal testing at P&G and a dress that needs to be taken out at least two sizes in the chestal area? C’mon, babe, step it up a bit. Then we can see you look like this (i.e. resplendent)…

Instead of this….

Thanks! Also, loved you on Firefly.

* Crystal Renn’s memoir, Hungry, is a great summer read, if you’re into exposes of the fashion industry.

** BTdubs, if you’re not reading the Mad Men Style posts at Tom & Lorenzo, I recommend getting on that immediately. There’s plenty of great semiotic analysis of the clothes and characters, and it’s full of lovely screencaps.  Same goes for the Fashion File at AMC, which I could stare at for days. It’s enough to make me wish I had gone into props or costumes or set design. In a word: amazing.

One response to “intervention, pls?

  1. Oh god, I cringe whenever I see Christina Hendricks on Go Fug Yourself. She has so much good material to work with. And by good material, I don’t just mean Lefty and Righty.

    Also: some friends of mine went to see SATC2 a few weeks ago, but I could not bring myself to sit through it. I commend you for your fortitude. Or at least the fortitude of your inner snark.