or maybe a windmill?

More comics available here.

…à la Jonathan Creek?

And before my fangirling gets out of control, I will be perfectly honest. I thought that Jonathan Creek was kind of a shit show, despite Alan Davies having all the charm of a Cocker Spaniel puppy in real life.* The ingredients were good, if a little far fetched (Magician? Who lives in a lighthouse? And helps this intrepid journalist with oversized earrings and a chocolate biscuit addiction solve crimes? Who the fuck pitched that? Doing some internet research, by which I mean casually scanning Wikipedia, I see that it won a BAFTA. Really? Wow. That’s…dire).

There was probably the most stunning lack of chemistry between the male and female leads I have ever seen, save maybe for between Natalie Portman and Hayden Christensen in those Star Wars prequels. I didn’t believe that was unrequited or requited true love for one fucking second.

*Just a plug to say that if you’ve never watched QI (Quite Interesting), go do so immediately. It has been my ballast through multiple bouts of depression, ennui, and jaded irritability. I imagine Stephen Fry would be happy to hear so. His documentary on manic depression (The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive) is truly masterful, including interviews with Carrie Fischer and Richard Dreyfuss.

Comments are closed.